Anyone swap their own cams?

raustin0017

Established Member
Okay...I'm trying to decide if I can do the L&M NSR cam swap on my own. I'm not a master mechanic but do know my away around a set of tools. Sort of hard for me to allow others to wrench on my baby.

Why Cams? I'm looking for the old school sound and picking up the extra HP is just a bonus.

Catmonkey

I Void Warranties!
Established Member
Premium Member
I've done it twice now. I'm not a master mechanic either, not by trade or certification at least. I have built a number of engines over my lifetime. I think having a good understanding of engines and valve trains would be more beneficial than knowing your way around tools. The Ford modular is by far more complex than traditional pushrod V-8s. I don't find installing cams is that difficult, but it is a time consuming and tedious process. You will need a valve spring compressor that works on both intake and exhaust on a 4v mod motor. You probably should get or rent a cam holding tool too.

Keeping the cam tower caps in the correct order and orientation is absolutely critical. Bear in mind here are 24 cam towers. Only 2 would to difficult install incorrectly. Installing the caps on the wrong cam tower or wrong orientation will wipe out the cam and ultimately the engine. Unless you're taking the timing cover off, you will need a timing chain wedge to keep the primary chain from losing time with the crank gear. Trying to remove or install the camshaft without removing the cam followers can lead to damaged valves or stripped cam tower threads. I've read about people doing that successfully, but I wouldn't recommend it and it's not a short cut that I took.

My advice would be to get a shop manual and read up on the whole process either to help you decide if you want to tackle it or to do the deed. There's a reason a cam install by a third party is pricey. It's a good bit of work and doing it wrong could have disastrous results.

Clemson

Established Member