Anybody experiencing loose play in steering. Steering shaft suggestions.

red03dave

Established Member
I have the MM steering shaft in my car and it eliminated all the slop and also gives ten times more road feedback then the stock one, (I also have a tubular k, a arms, and coil overs). One of the best suspension purchases I have made. GO FOR IT!

Taz

Established Member
Is the Borgeson shaft worth the extra $110 vs. the shaft offered by MM?

You'd have to be one to make that decision. I have been using the Borgeson on my Cobra for about 6 years, and I've been very pleased with it, but I have never personally compared it with the MM or Flaming River shafts. When I bought my Borgeson, I bought it from MM, as this is the shaft MM was stocking at that time.

BTW, I just did a search and found the Borgeson 153-650 shaft (Terminator Mustangs use this shaft, as well as those listed) at Jeg's for $308. That makes the cost difference $58, instead of $110.

Borgeson intermediate shaft

You may be able to find it for even less, if you poke around a little.

fiveoh2go

Cleveland's OG
Established Member
BTW, I just did a search and found the Borgeson 153-650 shaft (Terminator Mustangs use this shaft, as well as those listed) at Jeg's for $308. That makes the cost difference $58, instead of $110.

Borgeson intermediate shaft

You may be able to find it for even less, if you poke around a little.

Thanks. :beer:

gmtech

Grease Monkey
Established Member
As long as their integrity hasn't been compromised, the rag joint on the intermediate shaft and the rubber steering rack bushings only make the steering feel spongy and slow. They don't contribute to play.

If you have play - the kind in which the steering wheel feels like it's not connected to anything at all for a few degrees of rotation - then your culprit is probably the metal bushing in the firewall that the intermediate shaft passes through.