Another newMach1 2Me

GaryZ

Just bought a 04 M1 that's been sitting for 5 years. New tires and power steering pump ordered. Has high idle (1100+) and possible roller lifter noise on startup. Quiets down after a minute or so when cold. New oil change, Lucas added, then a bit of Marvel to the oil and fuel along with 93 oct. It has a K&N System and possibly a tune, but no way of knowing for certain until I can get it running without the current problems. It doesn't seem stock to me. I do have a ZR13 OBDII Diag Scan Tool. Can this tell if it has a tune on it? And is Electronics Spray Cleaner sufficient to clean MAP & other possible culprits to the high idle? With the shaker hood, are there any common problems with air fuel combo? Also spring problems on TB? Any positive inputs is appreciated. I am relatively new to late model HP. I have built 2 60's era cruisers, but nothing new. Thx.

my04mach

Established Member
Get it out and drive it for a good hour (normal driving). Could be the idle is still learning. If the battery was disconnect during the time it was sitting, the idle was reset and needs to be relearned.

GaryZ

Thx. Hadn't considered that. Should have though. I just did a 2012 Ram Hemi replacement and had to do a reset and modified breakin on it. Will do. Just waiting on PS and tires. Then need to get it exhausted and inspected. PO knocked one exhaust off doing donuts or something...

CobraBob

Authorized Vendor
Established Member
Premium Member
Single Barrel Sirs
Did you say in your other thread that it sat in a field for 5 years? Post a photo of the exterior and another one of the engine bay if you can.

Oh, and welcome to SVTP!!

GaryZ

Tried. Says too big. 4.3mg. It says 24mg max but won't upload... maybe user incomp...

Yeah, it was abused and deserted, basically. Gonna try to contact PO, but there may be legal problems. Not sure.

Try to load pics after these storms pass.

GaryZ

Resized_rps20200304_101347_32641838389577.jpeg

GaryZ