American racing solutions tensioner 2001 cobra??

Badaz01

Established Member
Anyone have any experience with the American racing solutions belt tensioner on an 01 cobra with a procharger? I’m working on installing one and when we got it all together the idler pulley under the procharger came into contact with the ars tensioner pulley and shredded my belt. The idler is 76mm and we replaced it with a 70mm idler. The pulley on the tensioner is 76mm. We are waiting on a new belt I hope this works idk any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Roots-type

+displacement
Established Member
I'm assuming you're slipping? Is it 6 rib? Might look into going 8 if it is. I'm no centri expert but it seems like this is a common thread among those blowers.

Badaz01

Established Member
I'm assuming you're slipping? Is it 6 rib? Might look into going 8 if it is. I'm no centri expert but it seems like this is a common thread among those blowers.
Yes it is 6 rib but I’m running a 10% OD pulley and 4 inch blower pulley. The ars tensioner had belt tight as hell it is just rubbing the idler pulley under the procharger. Was initiating this thread to see if anyone has experience with the ars tensioner and how to make it best work on an 01 cobra.

Roots-type

+displacement
Established Member
Sounds like you ought to have enough belt wrap with those big pullies then. If this new aftermarket tensioner has the belt 'tight as hell', I'd rethink that. Over-tensioning never seems to end well. I would rather have more ribs in the system to combat slip, but that's just me. If you want to exhaust other avenues before going 8rib, you could try different style belts and do something like a carbonite coating on the blower pulley. I think pc makes their stuff 6rib out of the box just so they can sell you an 8rib system later on when you're done banging your head on the wall. More $$ for them that way.