Aluminator Engine or Custom Short Block?

13 GT/CS

Established Member
My car is currently making 600+hp and 500+tq to the back wheels. Its a daily driver for now but will be a drag focused car in the near future.
I would like to be able to crank the boost and get around 800rwhp but I don't know which is better.
Sell my engine and use that money for an Aluminator?
Or just go to MMR, BBR, JPC, or one of the many other companies and get them to build me a shortblock?
Im still learning so don't kill me if this is a dumb question, to hear some pros and cons would be nice.
All replies are appreciated thanks!!!

Dizzyscure1

Established Member
Aluminators are good motors but the weakness with all motors that are built and not supported of Sleeved is the water jackets. I wouldn't push the Aluminators past 900rwhp. FRPP has talked about the water jackets letting go around 850rwhp. Call around for price quotes on the short block build, but if I knew I would only want 800-900rwhp and be happy if plop an aluminator into my car and be done with it. They have nice valve springs & OPGs which will support a safe 850rwhp with no issues. Sell ur stock motor for $3000-4000 and buy an aluminator.

I don't like to go against fourm vendors but I've heard from two people now around my immediate area of the horror stories of dealing with one In particular, PM me for the name.

JPC/RGR would be one of a few shops I would trust to build my motor, the rest I couldn't comment on.

Last edited:

prn1972

Established Member