Advice for a 01 cobra

airstang93

Established Member
Im about to purchase an 01 Cobra vert with 66,000 miles. Its all stock, wihch is what i want so i know all the work that will be done to it is done correctly. My question to you is, what do you think is the first mod i should invest in? I was thinking the exhaust, which is the first thing i have always done.. if you think that is a good idea, what set ups are u guys liking? i havent owned a cobra let alone any stang newer than a 93 so im still learning these new edge cobras... any input is appreciated

cotySRT-4

Established Member
your question is way to broad. Are you looking more for styling or power or wat? What kind of power mods u plan on doing later on down the line such as turbo or s/c? Budget? If you were gonna stay na personally I would do 4.30 gears, ,mgw shorth throw, exhaust bassani x pipe w/ borla stingers or if you like it really loud LM1. subframe connectors help a ton and make a huge difference. And if you are mainly for looks throw some H&R lowering springs or if you can afford coil overs then go that route. If you decide to do lowering springs go talk to predator bird. He has the best stance imo...

Bite Me

Established Member
He just asked what the best first mod to do is this isnt that difficult to answer.

Sound and some performance - exhaust, take your pic and listen to the exhaust clips that you can find all over. My choice is slp lm2's or a mac catback. SLP quality is top notch, but its pricey. You should get an H or X at the same time.

Looks - lower it. The 4x4 look ruins these cars. I have eibach pro-kit and it looks good and rides good. Most go with H&R springs, but I havent been in any cars with them on so I cant comment on ride characteristics.

Then keep on going down the line. Once you get to engine mods you need to decide FI or NA, then buy accordingly.

2004cobra615

sssvtsnake
Established Member