? about mod specific tuning with supercharger

paramax55

Established Member
I am not new to tuning, but I am new to the Ford Mod motor. I am tuning a car for a friend of a friend. He has a '99 Mustang with a SOHC mod motor. He bought it from someone who built it very nicely, but could never get it to run right. It has a balanced/blueprinted motor, aluminum intake with 8 additional injector ports and injectors, centri supercharger with 10psi pulley, T56, connected subframes, etc., etc., etc...

There were a number of "bandaids" that I removed (Diablo chip, Split-second injector controller, faulty Holley injector driver) and we are now down to the stock ECM with the original tune and stock injectors.

I have a few questions...

1) I am familiar with TunerPro and I happen to like it. I was going to use that with a Moates QuarterHorse. Does this sound like a valid option?

2) The engine runs pretty well until the boost gauge goes from vacuum to 0 psi. The AFRs go from 12(or so):1, under vacuum, to 30:1 as soon as you hit 1 psi. It's as if there is some failsafe that Ford programmed in to cut the injectors in case of a backfire. It doesn't matter what the RPM is or the load. It is purely dependent on manifold pressure. What causes this?

3) The mechanic that does the physical work on the car said "let's try unplugging the AFM." I told him he was welcome to, but that the car wouldn't run because the ECM would have no way of calculating airflow through the engine. He unplugged it and the car ran!?! WTF???!!!??? It probably ran better than it did with it plugged in? How can this be? I looked all over that car for a MAP sensor and couldn't find one. Is there one hidden somewhere?

Thank you for a point in the right direction...

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
1) As long as you're comfortable with that program, go for it.