A Build of a Different Color- 1989 Jeep Comanche

mysteed

Established Member
My whole life it seems that pretty much all of the vehicles that I have purchased (save one) have been Mustangs. Now I have always been a fan of Jeeps and of the Comanche especially and this week I finally took steps to procure my very own. I am not new to rebuilding vehicles from the ground up but I am new to Jeeps so this is pretty exciting for me. I'm not 100% sure which direction I will be taking with it (fully restore to OE, update to modern standards, or full out off road rig), but I will be daily driving it once it is up and running. It looks rough on the outside but from what I saw when I was initially looking at the truck the bones of it seemed really good.

The Comanche is a 1989 with 117,600 miles I purchased from the original owners son. It's a base 4cyl, 2wd, std trans truck but is equipped with A/C from the factory.

Without further adieu:

As it sat before I had it towed to the shop:
IMAG0026_zpsrspk5dpy.jpg

IMAG0027_zpszn7gr7mm.jpg

IMAG0030_zpszih4x1xg.jpg

IMAG0029_zpsacpf6fsp.jpg

IMAG0028_zps2voyeznx.jpg

NJ03SVTCobra

Addicted Open Tracker
Established Member
Nice can't wait to see more pics.

A Modern day Commanche would be awesome. Especially, if it is a DD and you have the funds. Drop a 5.9l out of a GC into it or a 5.7l Hemi. better suspension and brakes, modernize the interior! Awesome!

Joewee500

Established Member
I had an '88 commanche back in high school. 4.0, auto, 2x4. Ran a swift 17.0 in the 1/4. Me and dad built a carbed 318 to swap in but it never got done. I loved that truck. Good luck on the build.

CSG

Established Member
60's f/r, 4 link/3link w/ coilovers, bob the back, stretch the front, cut the openings for LCG and do an LS. Lots of work but would be a very sweet rig that you could DD and offroad.

kevinatfms

Ex-Ford/Kia/Hyundai Tech
Established Member
Premium Member
SCCA Comanche style build. Low, wide wheels and tires and some serious power.