98 cobra turbo or super

skeeweezer

Established Member
:shrug: I am just wondering which is better or what the pros and cons are of each. Thanks for any help. Specific examples of brands would be great.

ZeroSpinn

Car Mod Addict
Established Member
I'm still a newbie here, but here is some info that I think I understand about the two options:

- turbo is run off exhaust energy, where as s/c is run off crank pulley which takes power, so turbo usually makes a lot more power even w/ same boost

- centrifugal s/c (ex.vortech, ati) only makes full boost at max rpm, where turbo has full boost all at once, say 4000rpm and on

- basically i think others would agree that turbos are better, they're just more complicated kits and a lot more expensive than s/c's

- if you want to go w/ turbo, i hear Pro Turbo kits is a good company, can't think of their site off hand (proturbokits.com?)

- s/c like vortech and procharger are all pretty good, some people say one is better and vice versa

I'm sure much more knowledgeable people will chime in, but thought I'd take a stab ;-)

702lightning

Sck Snake
Established Member
Well also remember if you go turbo your gonna have some lag meaning that if you stomp on the loud pedal itll be flat till boost comes on. W/ a supercharger its instant all the time no lag just go.

Also w/ turbos theirs alot heat of generated so depending on where you live you may have some overheating issues. Also turbos need lots of tuning also so be patient if you go w/ a turbo setup.

Im actually thinking about going turbo, But not for awhile
I love my procharger to much!

chknhwk

Both superchargers (centrifugal) and turbochargers have 'boost lag'. Some centrifugal superchargers don't build full boost until a certain impeller speed which is directly related to engine rpm - hence lag.
Turbochargers don't reach full boost until enough load is placed on the turbo which is dependent on rpm and throttle position - hence lag.