• Welcome to SVTPerformance!
ATTENTION!
You may experience intermittent issues while accessing the site over the next 60-90 minutes, as we perform maintenance and upgrades.

96' Procharged Cobra "Casper" Build

Discussion in 'SN95 Cobras' started by 01silverstang, Feb 24, 2021.

  1. BOTTLEFED5

    BOTTLEFED5 booost+spray= me Established Member

    Messages:
    306
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Location:
    hanover pk il
    The cable is super easy to install just do it yourself, maximum motorsports makes a nice adjustable cable.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
     
  2. 01silverstang

    01silverstang Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    My problem is I have very little experience with adjusting clutches... for all the performance cars I have had, it's never been something I have needed to do. The current cable is adjustable, but I'm not sure how to adjust it for smooth transition at clutch release. That's why I was going back in forth... the Ford Cable doesn't adjust at the fork so it can't really be messed up, I would just need to adjust it at the firewall.
     
  3. 98 svt

    98 svt Premium Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    19,844
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Nunya, MA
    Everything I have ever heard about adjustable cables have been horror stories. OEM cable only for me.
     
  4. 01silverstang

    01silverstang Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I'm leaning towards going this route. I'm assuming the TKO600 works with the standard clutch cable, I haven't found anything recommending a different length cable.
     
  5. 98 svt

    98 svt Premium Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    19,844
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Nunya, MA
    That I can not answer.
    But definitely avoid the adjustable cable, especially if you don't know what you're doing.
    OEM for the win in this case.
     
  6. 01silverstang

    01silverstang Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ordered the stock cable, I have seen nothing from swap guides to anything else advising a different clutch cable is necessary.

    Now to figure out the idle, wondering if it's not something to do with the custom tune. I have 24 vacuum at idle, so I don't think I have any vacuum leaks that would be causing it. I have verified the TPS is working as it should, and the readings match the live data percentage... so that should rule out harness issues. The IAC is brand new... I did see a post about a "non-adaptive" tune from and SCT tuner that held an idle at 1k?
     
  7. BOTTLEFED5

    BOTTLEFED5 booost+spray= me Established Member

    Messages:
    306
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Location:
    hanover pk il
    Sometimes the "stock" cable isn't long enough with the quicktime bell/tko trans. You will find out soon enough if you need the adjustable or not lol

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
     
  8. DSG2003Mach1

    DSG2003Mach1 Premium Member Premium Member Established Member Single Barrel Sirs

    Messages:
    11,504
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Central Fl
    I had to use an adjustable with the QT bell and magnum t56 on mine (dual disc clutch also)

    If you have to use the adjustable its really not that bad
     
    01silverstang likes this.
  9. BOTTLEFED5

    BOTTLEFED5 booost+spray= me Established Member

    Messages:
    306
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Location:
    hanover pk il
    Yep i had the same issue with my t56/dual setup as well, also on other setups thru the years.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
     
    01silverstang likes this.
  10. jman37

    jman37 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    166
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2019
    Location:
    MA
    When my cable snapped I went with OEM and no issues.
     
    98 svt and 01silverstang like this.
  11. 01silverstang

    01silverstang Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I just don't know enough about how to determine the correct place for the locknut in relation to the clutch fork. I have yet to see where any TKO600 swaps recommended a different clutch cable, must be specific to the T-56?

    Fingers crossed the OEM fits, as I would rather limit adjustment to the firewall.

    I'm hoping it works for me as well. This would be the last real drivability issue, outside of hanging revs.
     
  12. 98 svt

    98 svt Premium Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    19,844
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Nunya, MA
    As far as the hanging idle goes, ever try to make an IAC gasket with a smaller hole?
     
  13. DSG2003Mach1

    DSG2003Mach1 Premium Member Premium Member Established Member Single Barrel Sirs

    Messages:
    11,504
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Central Fl
    With everything going on with this car I think Id wait until I could get a datalog for someone to look at before adding yet another variable to the situation. I had one on my Mach, I didnt care for it
     
    Real98roush, 01silverstang and 98 svt like this.
  14. 98 svt

    98 svt Premium Member Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    19,844
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Nunya, MA

    I didn't either. I took it off after a week. Thatvwas probably 12 years ago haha
     
  15. 01silverstang

    01silverstang Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Everything is pretty much buttoned up… vacuum is 24 at idle so I don’t think there are any vacuum leaks. No codes currently… TPS voltage was measured and is in spec and steady to a max of 4.75V. The 02 sensors are registering on live data and the wideband is operational and I’m at 13.4 to 14.8 on a cold start.

    keep telling myself I’m almost there, lol!
     
    Real98roush likes this.
  16. 01silverstang

    01silverstang Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Saturday was raining and cold, and I had zero desire to work on the car… but yesterday was decent and warmer so I finally got around to replacing the adjustable clutch cable for an OEM cable. The job wasn’t bad, definitely needed a Dremel tool to cut the plastic housing off that connects to the firewall so that it would work with the adjustor and a crowbar made getting the end of the cable locked into the clutch fork a snap.

    Took it for the longest drive to date, and noticed two things. One, I definitely need someone who knows suspension to go over the front as I was getting some weird pops and clunks as I drove. It didn’t feel unsafe, but it made more noises than I think it should even for coil overs. Two, she rips… I took it out on the highway by my neighborhood and did a pull in second gear from about 25 mph and as the rpms climb and the boost picks up it just puts you back in the seat. It’s definitely a different feeling from my old 03 Cobra swapped Mach 1, the roots blower gives immediate power and liked to spin, this car has a nice linear pull up to red line. The sound of the big red race blowoff valve when you shift is amazing as well.

    Things left to do before summer driving season:

    - Change Oil and Fuel Filter

    - Get Suspension sorted

    - Get Tires

    - Install front fender liners so I can wash the car without hosing down the Anderson Motorsport Powerpipe filter which sits in front of the passenger side wheel.

    - Decide if I want to remove the intake cover and have it power coated Wrinkle Black or just install the new OEM Cobra plaque and wait until fall.
     
  17. 01silverstang

    01silverstang Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    So strange issue I forgot to mention. While on my last test drive, I noticed the turn signals didn't work and neither did my emergency flashers. No lights illuminated on the gauge, no clicking noise, but both tail lights/brake lights and front turn signal bulbs work. The turn signal selector on the column works for windshield wipers and wiper fluid... am I safe to assume its the flasher relay?
     
  18. ViciousBlack97

    ViciousBlack97 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    236
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Location:
    NC
    I'd replace the flasher relay first, and if that doesn't resolve it then I'd go for the multifunction switch. I replaced my MFS due to intermittently working turn signals, only for the problem to actually be the relay. Whoops haha
     
    01silverstang likes this.
  19. 01silverstang

    01silverstang Well-Known Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,036
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ok, whew… ordered the relay already off Amazon and it should be here tomorrow.
     
    ViciousBlack97 likes this.
  20. DaveWertz

    DaveWertz Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    382
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Location:
    Hughesville Pa
    I would agree on this. I was getting grinding going in to 4th gear and popping out of 2nd a few times to finally realize that my new adjustable cable might have stretched a bit and might need adjusted. After about 10 miles of pulling over, popping the hood and minor turn every 1/4 mile it finally shifts great with no grinding and popping out. Was a PITA!!!!!!!!
     
    01silverstang likes this.

Share This Page