8.8 rear end mods/beef

DD2013 5.0

Established Member
Looking to beef up the rear end in my 2013 5.0. At the moment it's stock w/ 3.31's. bare with me here as I have no experience with the ford 8.8!
The car is/will be sporting full bolt on and a 100 shot. What all is recomended to beef up and keep the rear end in check when running slicks/dr's at the track? I know a 1 pcs ds and better clutch (hopefully the mt-82 stays together) are a no brainier. Diff mods, tube welding, bracing,??
Any info or links would be appreciated

Benchracer

Established Member
I just posted a thread similar to this because mine finally broke after 3 years of 6000+rpm launches and 1/3 of them were 5500 rpm with a 125-150shot launches on slicks. Everything in the whole drivetrain was bone stock. I finally broke mine when I attempted a 5100 rpm launch with a 200 shot and a mcleod rxt clutch. Broke the spider gears

5.0_KenneB

Established Member
After shattering my spider gears I just went with the eaton tru trac and love it and no problem since!!

prollynotjeff

Established Member
I added a CHE axle Brace to help from twisting the tubes in the rear. It was pretty inexpensive around $200 I think.

implosive

Established Member
Yeah it'll take you a while to break this rear with just a 100 shot and bolt ons. Shit does happen though

twistedneck

Established Member
what about welding the axle tubes? and would a cradle support type diff cover help to stop the gear fracturing?

01bluesnake

Established Member
what about welding the axle tubes? and would a cradle support type diff cover help to stop the gear fracturing?