401k Question

Don't Care
Established Member
Malt Liquor Mafia
My wife has a sizable 401k through her work. Is there a way to convert it to something safe for a period of time than perhaps convert it back? Are there fees involved in this,etc?
I'd like to pull it now then hold it until say early next year.
It took 20 years to build and I'd hate to lose it or lose 50% of it's value. Especially if things get squirrelly here after the election.

Willie2

Established Member
Premium Member
*I'm not a financial professional so don't listen to what I say* Some of my thoughts:

*Taking it out and converting to something else will cost you the 10% early withdrawl penalty unless she is over 65
*Her 401k program should have many investment avenues to choose from within it. choosing a safer choice might help
*I'm willing to bet she, like me, took a big loss when all this started but is now back whole. invest for the long term
*If she is near retirement age her blend of investments should be on the more conservative side anyways

Fat Boss

Established Member
To answer your question, Yes. She can move funds WITHIN her 401k to a "stable value" fund. I did that last Aug, shoved it in starting mid-March, then moved it all back to the stable value fund in June. No tax liability if she leaves it in the 401k account.

PowerWheels

Anti-Bullshit
Established Member
You probably have a stable value option. You could transfer some into that.

My suggestion would always be diversify yourself to your level of risk tolerance. You might think you are being safe being all cash just to find inflation is eating away at that position each year. With governments around the world printing money this is a real possibility.

Also keep in mind even if you are retiring now are you going to use all that money now. Id think not. You probably are wanting it to last decades. That means you need future growth, not exposure to just eroding inflation.