• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

2.8 Pulley diameter....

Discussion in 'Terminator Talk' started by Pnsh3r, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. Pnsh3r

    Pnsh3r Member Established Member

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Might be astupid question - but, I am only seeing 10lbs boost with mine. I bought the blower with the pulley already on there, and I just wanna make sure that it is a 2.8 pulley.
    So, what is the diameter of a 2.8 pulley?
     
  2. 96stanggt

    96stanggt Blower Whine Junkie Established Member

    Messages:
    9,275
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, SC

    Well the diameter would be 2.80", what are you using to measure the boost?
     
  3. Pnsh3r

    Pnsh3r Member Established Member

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    my boost gauge?
     
  4. BlownShelby10

    BlownShelby10 Active Member Established Member

    Messages:
    1,270
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    your prolly running a 2.93 or something close to that not a 2.8
     
  5. Pnsh3r

    Pnsh3r Member Established Member

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I did do some porting on the blower, too - but, it seems like I am still not seeing enough boost.
     
  6. 03cobra#694

    03cobra#694 I Have LL’s Hammer Staff Member Super Moderator

    Messages:
    52,882
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    SW FL.
    Belt slip?are you using the factory guage.
     
  7. Pnsh3r

    Pnsh3r Member Established Member

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i have not replaced the belt yet. (flame On :thumbsup:). i am on the stock belt... i did not change the belt because my BF 4 piece idler set is on the UPS truck being delivered today. :)
    But, it does not sound like the belt is slipping. The pressure comes up to solid 10 psi and just stays there. And this is in ~30F weather. :/
    Maybe it is belt slip...
     
  8. Pnsh3r

    Pnsh3r Member Established Member

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    and yes, I am still using the factory gauge.
     
  9. 96stanggt

    96stanggt Blower Whine Junkie Established Member

    Messages:
    9,275
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    That factory gauge unless you trim the tab will only go to 10 psi no matter how hard you're spinning it.
     
  10. Pnsh3r

    Pnsh3r Member Established Member

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    so, there is a little tab in there? I looked in there but did not see one.... - How hard is it to get to it? Do I have to pull the entire cluster out? Or is there an easier way?
     
  11. 96stanggt

    96stanggt Blower Whine Junkie Established Member

    Messages:
    9,275
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    If you pull the gauge cluster off you can then pull the plastic lens off to get to the needle. Once you pull the needle off there is a little tab that prevents it from going further than the 10lb mark.
     
  12. Pnsh3r

    Pnsh3r Member Established Member

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    is there a writeup on this anywhere?

    Feel like such a damn noob, too - lol

    Do I have to remove center console pieces to get to the gauges, or can I just remove the plastic cover that is behind the wheel?
     
  13. Silver2003Cobra

    Silver2003Cobra US Navy (retired) Established Member

    Messages:
    5,685
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Location:
    Epping, ND
    with the stock 3.5" pully my boost guage hit 10 psi.. now with a 2.8" pulley it goes to about 15psi (or there abouts).. even at 5500 ft elevation, it still hits about 12 psi...
     
  14. 96stanggt

    96stanggt Blower Whine Junkie Established Member

    Messages:
    9,275
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    There might be a writeup, but it's not that hard. You don't need to remove the center console, just the plastic cover behind the steering wheel. First you have to remove the headlight knob, then the bezel behind the steering wheel. Once that's off you should see the bolts that need to be removed to get the gauge cluster out, once its out just remove the other bolts to get the clear plastic cover off. From there you can pull the needle off and trim the tab.
     
  15. jm@ReischePerf

    [email protected] Owner & Operations Mgr Premium Member Established Member

    Messages:
    4,622
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Location:
    San Antonio
    Well if you're gonna go through the trouble to mod the gauge you might as well put the overlay on it:

    Hilton Boost Overlay
     
  16. Pnsh3r

    Pnsh3r Member Established Member

    Messages:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    This fixed was my issue. :thumbsup:
    I am compelled to feel like a complete tard, but who in the hell hides a stopping pin behind the actual needle. lol
    I have changed my spark plugs (TR7IX gapped at .35), installed the BF 4 piece idler set, and after a short pull (it is wet outside, and because of the potholes and traffic (and cops lol) I would not go past 2nd gear - but Needle was showing what seems to be about 14-14.5 psi :)
    I also have a dyno scheduled for tomorrow at 2 - so, there will be a vid, dyno sheet and complete writeup on what the mods are (I have done some home-porting on the blower as well). I am anxious as hell to see what she puts down. I know that power is definitely up as the 2nd gear would spin like silly from 50mph punch :)
     
  17. 96stanggt

    96stanggt Blower Whine Junkie Established Member

    Messages:
    9,275
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Great to hear man, congrats!
     

Share This Page