1997 cobra forged internal rebuild

Svtcobra916

Established Member
long story short.. a few doughnuts = bottem end work.
i am looking to get forged internals because i want to go supercharged in the next 2-3 years. so i have a few questions for you guys on here who have gone through having one of these motor rebuilt with forged internals.
1. does $9000 for forged internals & $7000 with stock internals sound about right for a rebuild in sacramento area?
2. anybody know of any other sites to get manley forged parts/kits besides MMR?
3. anybody have a rough estimate of the cost to have cylinder heads fully rebuilt? i am considering buying remanufactued
4. anybody know any good reputable shops for this kind of work in sacramento area for this kind of build?
5. if anybody has done this build before could u please provide me with a list of parts you used, price, and how you went about.

this is my first time ever having to rebuild a motor on any of my mustangs just happens to be my first cobra i get to do it on. i feel like the shop quoting me 9000 is a bit excessive even with forged internals. if i have to pull the motor and do some of the work myself i will but i was hoping to get this whole thing done for around $6500

any advice or knowledge will be greatly appreciated.

a list of parts im planning on accumulating:
crankshaft- 1000
forged piston, piston ring and rod combo kit w/ 11cc pistons- 1600
timing chain and guide kit- 500
cylinder rebuild kit- $800
all gaskets $450
exhaust and intake valves $400
main bearing- $140
rod rearings- $130

01yellercobra

AKA slo984now
Established Member
Is $9K dropping the car off and picking it up running? If so that's not bad. But if you have the skills you should pull it yourself. Wait on ordering parts until you know what you need. The stock crank is forged. So if it's good you don't need to buy another.

Is Modmax still around? JMO but I wouldn't by anything from MMR.

Svtcobra916

Established Member