04 cobra sounds and shakes

04compking

Established Member
I'm new to the cobra world (just got my first comp orange cobra) and it shakes a little and sounds like it rattles a bit on rough roads. What could be wrong? Car has mm caster/camber plates and mm subframe connectors,2.76 pulley and 93 tune with bbk cai. Made 454/512. Has stock cut springs as well. Any ideas? car just hit 13,000 miles

03dsgcobranc

Fujiwara zone
Established Member
What tire/wheel combo? Explain shakes and rattles. Interior rattle or suspension? Shakes through steering wheel or body is jittery?

VenomousDSG

Get ready to fly!
Established Member
Sounds like you may need an alignment, maybe new wheels/tires and get those balanced too. I know a lot of people beat the hell out of these cars before dumping them, doing burnouts and such, and it will throw off the balance and alignment. Mine shook and rattled a bit when I first got it. Got brand new rims and tires and an alignment and the car is smooth as hell now.

Welcome to the mustang world. They all rattle.

Mine doesn't.

04compking

Established Member
What tire/wheel combo? Explain shakes and rattles. Interior rattle or suspension? Shakes through steering wheel or body is jittery?

Stock wheels, stock eagle f1 gs onthe front, nitto nto5r on rear. Sounds like suspension rattle or body. Didn't know if it had something to do with subframe connectors or not. It's fine till you hit bumps and then you feel it and hear it. Steering is tight but car is noisy. It is rough on the bumps and kinda chatters a bit. I guess I figured with only 13000 miles it shouldnt be like that. I think it shakes through the steering wheel a tad bit.

03SonicVert

Ford Junkie since 1996
Established Member
When the springs were cut were the iso's reinstalled or left off? Make sure each spring has a top and bottom iso installed or it will sound like chiti chiti bang bang.