• Welcome to SVTPerformance!

04 6r80 swap cobra

Discussion in 'Driveline' started by paulstang347, Apr 7, 2018.

  1. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Absolutly i think it would be fine on a blower car.. converter is just to tight and cant get turbo to spool up on the footbrake without it pushing me.
     
    roy_1031 likes this.
  2. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD


    Here was my 10 sec pass. Almost ran the g8 down barley beat me
     
    bodyshot likes this.
  3. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
     
    bodyshot likes this.
  4. MG0h3

    MG0h3 Premium Member Premium Member Established Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,495
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Hear what you're saying about not building boost. You can't foot brake at all?
     
  5. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I did as much as i could. Stock converter just pushes threw brakes
     
  6. MG0h3

    MG0h3 Premium Member Premium Member Established Member Established Member

    Messages:
    6,495
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Lame. Surprised you still didn't run down the G8. Guessing he was modded?
     
  7. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    It was close. He was procharged with who knows what else mods. I just ran out of track. He murdered me 60 foot so i was playing the behind game
     
    MG0h3 likes this.
  8. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    There was a demon there that could only get to 10.40 never below so i didnt feel so bad lol
     
    MG0h3 likes this.
  9. ShootyMCstabby

    ShootyMCstabby Brownie Hound. Established Member

    Messages:
    515
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Location:
    Minneapolis,MN
    Paul, so the Power by the hour trans cable mount works good with the stock 01 auto shift cable? I know you made your own shift lever, any slop? DSC05479.JPG DSC05478.JPG DSC05480.JPG

    Picking up parts for the swap, so far I have.Trans,flywheel, F.W.bolts, backing plate, 99-04 auto shifter, Factor 99-04 auto shifter cable, Trans isolator mount, I am gonna run the Shrader or make 1 myself. because of my exhaust.



    Gonna do it over the coming winter, I am gonna have the trans rebuilt, clutches and intermediate shaft.
     
  10. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Very nice. I do not have any slop. I have however made a few adjustments. Found that jms makes a transbrake. I do not know if it will work with the quick 6 but im going to try it. ( someone has to find out ) hopefully it will work and i can be in the 9s
     
    ShootyMCstabby likes this.
  11. ShootyMCstabby

    ShootyMCstabby Brownie Hound. Established Member

    Messages:
    515
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Location:
    Minneapolis,MN
    I wounder about the Quick 6 pro, no pics or description. On the WS it says that there is a integrated trans brake. But only for the quick 6 pro.
     
  12. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Yea i seen that with the pro. However i have heard zero about it. Said screw it and got a circle d on the way. Always fun when the converter cost more then the trans.
     
  13. bodyshot

    bodyshot New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Did you use the F150 converter? I wonder if the stock stall is different on the F150 than the Mustang. Still an awesome run. How did the car hook up after the boost kicked in?

    Looks like your bogging hard core of the line that really sucks. I cant belive how much they want for converters in these transmissions. Now that the 10R is out the6R stuff should cool down a bit.
     
  14. ShootyMCstabby

    ShootyMCstabby Brownie Hound. Established Member

    Messages:
    515
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Location:
    Minneapolis,MN

    I have been looking into the 6r80 torque converter and specs on it. Stall speeds varies in engine displacement only. The stock torque converter Stall speed is the same on all 5.0's with the 6r80. It's 2400min-2700max.

    So I am going to use that stock torque converter since I have a blower car. Just have it freshened up.
     
    bodyshot likes this.
  15. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Best i
    Im running srock converter. Best i could do was 1800 rpm. I know the specs but best i could do. Stock converter will run good with blower car. I bogged terrible at rhe line. After turbo kicked in it was awsome and held traction. I am also running 28x10 15 slick and was prepped good. They told me 3600 to 3800 stall so thats what i got. Should be fun
     
    bodyshot likes this.
  16. bodyshot

    bodyshot New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Location:
    Minnesota
    A friend of mine had a 4k stall in his 14 CS with a boss intake and headers. It really wasn't to bad driving around town but it was really odd going down hills. The car would be just casting along then all the sudden BAM!!!! Engine braking at 4k. That I didn't like but the car took off incredibly well for the factory street tires. The new cars traction control and suspension geometry really lay the power down well.

    I have his old factory converter with like 8k miles ill be using but my car is a Centri 2V.
     
  17. bodyshot

    bodyshot New Member Established Member

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Paul did the controller lock the converter in select shift mode?

    Edit: I just called US Shift. The converter electronic lockout can be use in the manual shift mode and can also be tuned separately for this mode. Also, I asked them about the Trans Break and they will update any already purchased Quick 6 with the Break function for FREE!!!

    You will need to call and send your unit in for the hardware and software update. They are going to start offering all Quick 6 controllers with the electronic Trans Break function when they are done quality testing, but new devices can be fitted with the function if the customer asks for it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2018
    paulstang347 and ShootyMCstabby like this.
  18. ShootyMCstabby

    ShootyMCstabby Brownie Hound. Established Member

    Messages:
    515
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Location:
    Minneapolis,MN
    Nice, good to know.
     
  19. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Sweet. I will be calling them soon. Thanks for checking that out.
     
  20. paulstang347

    paulstang347 Member Established Member

    Messages:
    84
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Just got off the phone with kevin from us shift. I am sending mine in tommarro and should have it back in time for the sturgis mustang rally. I drag race there and should be interesting with the new converter and trans brake.
     

Share This Page