Blowing a 2005 GT: Can it handle it?

NinoAvila

Who's awesome....YOU ARE!
Established Member
Just curious, I'm rather new to the whole modding scene. I'd like to ask a few questions.

Will my '05 GT withstand a SC/turbo in the long run (7-10 years)? I have heard about "forged internals" and "Forged lowers" and what not. I am fairly confident the '05s did't come with anything forged on it. Do I need it if I'm not running SUPER high boost?

Next question:
I'm not looking for the fastest/meanest ride in the land. I know that they have different types of power-adders (SC/Turbo); Even different types of the same (sc= roots & centrifigual). Which is cheaper and why?

I haven't run my ride on a dyno, but you can read my mod-list in the sig. I would guess it to be at or around 300hp??? I'd be happy with anything over 400hp :)

Any advice or insight you have in blowin' an 05 would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

-Nino

Last edited:

SQ Stang

I'm an SIT WOO WOO
Established Member
There really isn't much knowledge yet on how much the stock internals can take and what not so i wouldn't know how much boost to go. Just if you do, make sure you get a safe tune from a respectable tuner. Seems as if centri blowers as a package are cheaper. Don't know why but I have no problem with mine. :) Just stay around 8-10psi, intercooled would be safer, and a safe tune and hopefully everything will be fine for that car for years to come.

Fourcam330

Established Member
The stock hypereuctectic pistons and PM rods suck just as badly as previous generations. The crank is still cast.